Accepting the Call… Easier Said than done.


fb-image-3

“Hear I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and be with me.” Revelation 3:20 (NIV)

As you who follow me know I don’t always begin with a scripture but I figure we would start off on a high note (smile). We have all been called but only some of us have answered the call. I am reminded of the Prophet Elijah who didn’t hear God in the earthquake, whirlwind or fire but instead in a still small voice. Sometimes we haven’t answered the call because what has been calling us is louder than God.

I was once told that “the loudest thing in your life is influencing your life.” It took me a while to understand what the mentor was trying to say to  me, but I was intrigued. I went home that night and drove home silently just to grasp the statement. The next day I took more quiet time and analyzed my life. I saw that numerous things I had done, doing, and planning to do was because someone said I should do it. The question I asked myself, “what did God say?” I honestly couldn’t even answer it quickly. I had to mentally go back to my child like faith and purest form of the initial calling was at twelve years old. Wow, right!

God is faithful to keep His word! Ever since this time I was about 2o something and since then I have been yearly analyzing my life to ensure I’m doing what God has said in that “still small voice. ” I want to leave you all with stay encouraged and remember He is standing at the door of your heart waiting for you to answer the call!

ACTION STEP: Will you answer the call?

This entry was published on September 9, 2014 at 9:08 PM. It’s filed under The Best YOU and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
